Monday, 7 March 2011

Final Cut Pro (FCP)

Browser
Browser is where you import and manage your assets.

To import video files, 
Choose File > Import > Files (Command + I) or simply drag and drop your files into the Browser.


Assets are represented via various icons in the browser, starting from the top of the list, there are image file, video file, audio file, bin and sequence. You can view your assets differently in the browser by 
Choosing View > Browser Items


You should create bins to keep your assets organised by
Choose File > New > Bin (Command + B)


To view additional browser information regarding each asset,
drag the scroll bar at the bottom of the Browser or click on the asset and press (Command + 9)
Bring up a shortcut menu of useful commands by
Control Clicking an item in the Browser
To save your project,
Choose File > Save Project


In a big project it is more manageable when you edit the project in sequences. To create new sequences,
Choose File > New > Sequence (Command + N), then you can toggle them in the sequence tabs, which is located at the top left hand side of your Timeline.

Viewer
You use the viewer to view and edit individual clips, set markers and more.


Video tab is where you view your clip. You can change the view size of your footage in the viewer by
toggling the menu shown above (Command + Plus & Minus, Command + Z to fit to screen)


Motion tab is where you make basic changes to the video clip, the Scale, Rotation and Opacity for example. Notice that there are two key frames of Opacity set on the timeline, so the opacity of the video will change during that time during the playback.


Filters tab allows you to see all the video effects you added to the individual clip, as well as to change the attributes and set key frames for them.


You can change the information you wish to see on the Viewer by clicking on the pop up menu shown above.

The Scrubber bar represents the length of the video,
Click the 'Play' button or press Space Bar to play and stop playing your video clip.
Press (Home) key or (End) key to move the playhead to the beginning or end of the clip.
Press the (Right Arrow) or (Left Arrow) key to move the playhead forward or backward one frame at a time.
Hold (Shift + Right or Left) Arrow key to move the playhead forward or backward 1 second at a time.
Press (J) to play the clip backward and press several times to accelerate the playback speed.
Press (K) to stop playback
Press (L) to play the clip forward and press several times to accelerate the playback speed.


Drag the Shuttle control to play the clip forward or backward slowly


Drag the Jog control to move the playhead forward or backward by a small number of frames


Create In and Out points to mark out the working area of the clip you are focusing on.
Choose Mark > Mark In or press (I), to set an In point and
Choose Mark > Mark Out or press (O), to set and Out point.
Click the 'Play In to Out' button to play the clip starting from the In point.


Click Go to Previous Edit button or Go to Next Edit button to move the playhead to the next or previous edit point or,
Press (Up Arrow) and (Down Arrow) keys to move between edit points.

Canvas
This is where you play back the movie that you have created in the timeline.
Most of the Canvas controls, view size, buttons and short cuts for example, work identically to those you have used in the Viewer.

Note that it is important to change your sequence settings from default to match your video clips before you start editing.


To change the sequence settings,
Click on the sequence you wish to change in the Browser, 
then choose Sequence > Settings... (Command + 0)


To start editing your sequence, drag your video clip from the Viewer or Browser onto the Canvas, until the coloured Edit Overlay appears, then drag the clip to the Insert section to insert it in the timeline.

You may also select your clip into the Viewer and press below shortcuts instead (Working with In and Out points on the Timeline are recommended for these options)
Insert (F9) - Place the new clip in front of your selected clips on the Timeline.
Overwrite (F10) - Overwrite your selected clips on the Timeline with the new clip.
Replace (F11) - Replace your selected clips with the new clip (length of the new clip needs to be longer or at least the same length as the clips being replaced).
Superimpose (F12) - Add the new clip on a separate track above the selected clips.


If you see a message asking if you want FCP to set the timeline sequence settings to match the incoming clip settings, click Yes.

Timeline
The timeline holds your sequence, which contains the arrangement of video and audio clips, and other items such as titles and transitions, in the order you want them in your movie.
To change zoom in and around the timeline,
drag the thumb tabs at the ends of the zoom slider or drag the little arrow on the left hand side of the Thumb tab. Press (Command + Minus) to decrease the displayed length, (Command + Plus) to increase it, or (Shift + Z) to fit to screen.


Above is the tool palette where you can find the tools you need to edit your sequence on the timeline.


To quickly move through your timeline,
Click on the Hand Tool (H) and drag left or right on your timeline.

To move your clips,
Click on the Selection Tool (A) and drag your clips on the timeline to move it, or use ([ and ]) to move left and right with frame accuracy. Hold shift to trim by 5 frames.

To lengthen or shorten a clip,
Drag the beginning or the end of a clip, or select an edit point by pressing (V), and use ([) and (]) to trim with frame accuracy. Hold shift to trim by 5 frames.

To cut a clip,
Click on the Razor Blade Tool (B) and click on the point of the clip where you would like the clip to split. Use the Selection Tool to select the extra bits of the clip and press (Backspace) to remove it from the timeline. 

To replace a clip,
Choose Mark > Mark Clip (Shift + X), this marks In and Out points on both ends in the Timeline. 
then drag the clip you would like to replace onto the canvas and drop it on 'Overwrite'. 

A more efficient method is to move your playhead on the clip you wish to delete and press (X) to set In and Out markers at the beginning and end of the clip. Then press (Shift + X) to perform a ripple delete. Press (Alt + X) to remove the In and Out markers if you wish to.


You may prevent any unwanted changes to clips on a track by 
clicking on the Lock Track Control button before every track. Click it again to unlock the track.

You may also prevent the video or audio clips on a track to show up or play during playback by
clicking on the Track Visibility control. Click it again to reveal the clips. 


You may determine which track you would like your new video or audio clips to be placed in by 
reconnecting the Source control to the Destination control of different tracks.


To add new tracks to a sequence,
Choose Sequence > Insert Tracks
You may find the above panel at the right top corner of your Timeline.
Ripple Sequence Markers allows all the markers you placed on your Timeline to move with the clips when other clips are removed or added.
Linked Selection allows you to automatically select the audio section of the clip when you select the video clips.
Snapping allows you to snap your playhead and clips on your Timeline to the beginning or the end of nearby clips whenever you are moving them on the Timeline.
Audio Controls activates extra audio options, which allows you to solo an audio track and only play the sound effects coming from those particular tracks during the playback.
Toggle Clip Keyframes activates the Keyframe Graph on your Timeline. 
The graph is broken down to four parts, the Motion Bar, Filter Bar, Keyframe Editor and Speed Indicator Area, you can control which parameters you would like to see by right clicking on the Toggle Clip Keyframes button.

If you right click on the grey bar below each clip, you will be able to adjust each parameter regarding the keyframes individually (Once you applied video filters to your clips, they will also be added to this pop-up menu). 
The little boxes underneath the grey bar represents the how the frames are distributed over a clip. This means you can do Time Remapping simply by dragging the keyframes on the boxes.


Toggle Clip Overlays allows you to see the opacity level of video clips and audio levels of the audio clips on the Timeline. You can adjust these attributes directly on the Timeline by key-framing these lines up and down with a Pen Tool.
Toggle Timeline Track Height allows you to customise the viewing size of your clips on the Timeline.


Timeline Layout Popup enables you to select the information about clips that you are able to see on the Timeline. You can also save your customised window layout under this menu.


Choose Window > Tool Bench to open up the 'Audio Mixer'
The Audio Mixer appears as a tab in the Toon Bench window and allows you to adjust the levels of the audio clip items under the playhead. The Audio Mixer provides easy-to-use controls that allow you to mix the audio of a sequence, balancing the audio levels of tracks against each other.
Master audio level controls allow you to increase or decrease the overall audio level of the sequence.

Voiceover
Choose Tools > Voice Over to open up the voiceover panel.


Choose can choose your microphone or audio interface from the Source pop-up menu. Make sure you choose a sample rate that matches your sequence sample rate (Check this by going to the sequence settings, choose Sequence > Settings)
Type a name for your voiceover clip before you record it and use the Source controls on the Timeline to determine which track the clip is going to be after the recording. Place your playhead at where you would like the voiceover clip to be. 
When you are ready, click 'Record' button and press 'Esc' to stop the recording.
Click the Review button to hear your recording.
Click Discard Last Recording button and then click OK to delete the clip.


Drag the Gain slider to adjust the recording level of the microphone, if needed. You can increase the gain when the recording level is too soft, or decrease it when it is too loud.


Set In and Out points on the Timeline to set the duration for the voiceover clip.

Video and Audio Filters
To apply a video filter to your clip, select the clip you wish to apply to and
Choose Effects > Video Filters to select a huge variety of video filters for your clip.
Once applied, double click on the clip you applied the video filters on and change each filters attributes in the 'Filters' tab on the top of the Viewer. You can key-frame the attributes by using the Pen Tool over the green lines on the right hand side of the Filters tab.
The same thing applies to audio filters.
Choose Effects > Audio Filters
By clicking the cutting points in between the two clips, you are able to add in video and audio transitions the same way you applied the filters.
Choose Effects > Video Transitions or Effects > Audio Transitions

I will not go into details of what each filter does because that is just too long. I recommend whenever you are looking for a particular effect, just google what you would like to do and you should be able to find a lot of recommandations on the web.

Simple Color Corrections
Choose Effects > Color Correction > Color Corrector 3-way

You can change the clip's saturation by dragging the 'Sat' slider.
Drag the Blacks slider to change a clip's dark tones.
Drag the Mids slider to change a clip's midtones.
Drag the Whites slider to change a cli's light tones.

Play around with these sliders to try out different looks and feels to the clip.

No comments:

Post a Comment